Garmin GPS 172C

ReelyHooked

Participating Member
City
Bedminster
I recently had my GPS installed and I am new to the unit but when I enter a destination it takes a straight route there. The line actually will cross over land! Any tips or trouble shooting would be greatly appreciated. I read the manual and the quick reference but I just cannot get a grasp on the GPS.

djdecuollo,
If you are trying to put known waypoints into your Garmin such as a certain buoy position; with your garmin on, press menu button, press again for full screen. then press the down button until your are on points. Press the right button. Then press Menu, then press enter. It should give you a waypoint such as 01 in a square. You can then enter your numbers and press enter when you are through. I have a 178C and thats the way to enter waypoints on mine. Look in your manual under creating waypoints. It will walk you through it. I like my Garmin. It is very user friendly to me and I'm a dummy when it comes to new technology.Good Luck.
John D.

Thanks for the extra info, but where I run into the issue is that when it says go to point it takes a direct route right to the location, or if I choose a destination from Blue chart it just goes right over land to the destination. Is that possibly a zoom feature?

The GPS units, garmin etc, all do this as the consider the point you are at and the next point you want to goto. It is not a charting program so it just makes a straight line as you have stated. What you can do is program in a route, thus you are setting multiple waypoints. While this can be done on the unit itself, it is easier to buy Mapsource (for garmin) sit at your computer and set your routes. These can then be downloaded into your GPS unit.